Monday, September 15, 2014

Go goo gooo!!

...a phrase that has become a familiar one around my house these days, and not exactly by choice! It's usually yelled out, sometimes with a push or a tug out the door and most always with a sprint to the car, which is more often than not, followed by someone exclaiming that they "forgot something in the house"! 

I already feel out of breath just by writing about it... 

When my four kiddos were tiny, wobbly, walking human beings that required nothing less than my undivided attention—tying shoes, zipping jackets, last minute potty runs...the works—I dreaded leaving the house on any given day or time. If I ever did leave the house, I would fantasize of the day when they got older and could do such things on their own. Because, you know, growing up brings independence, which makes everything much easier for a tired Momma, right? I mean, there wouldn't be much to it, I probably have to wake them up in the morning and they would get dressed and brush their teeth while I made breakfast and get ready for work. I would leave the house, composed, and drive them to school, all with enough time to stop for a coffee and make it on time to work. At the end of the day, I would pick them up, go home and help them with homework and maybe take them to a sports practice or two; not bad, right?...so I thought!

My now mornings consist of waking up four sleepy heads that have slept through alarm clocks and each of which seems to have inherited my lack of morning cheerfulness. By the time I wake up the boys, downstairs, and make my way upstairs to wake Julissa, one of the boys has already gone back to bed. By the time I get to making breakfast and getting myself ready, I'm  running out the door with a shoe on my foot, the other on my hand and shoving kids out the door! Wheww!

But at the end of my workday, my day is just getting started, because the older the kids get the more their schedules grow with them! Suddenly, I'm not just pricking up kids from school and coming home to do homework, there's also sport practices...tons of sport practices. all. on opposite. sides. of the. city! Sometimes I feel like I don't have enough hours in the day to do all the dropping off, picking up and sitting down to watch a full sports game! Heck, even the car door, which won't open without a yank these days, has been protesting lately. It's like it's glued to the car! – Oh wait, maybe it's just the aftermath of that smoothie that Adrián spilled while running out the door to make it on time to practice, and which I swore I would make him clean afterwards but never did *sigh*.

So, I guess my life is not as easy and perfect as I thought it would be when my kiddos finally "grew up". I have a crazy life that includes sleepy kids that refuse to leave their beds in the mornings, insane schedules and a ton of homework, but it's our crazy life and I cherish every minute of it. 

Because nothing lasts forever...



~Yamilka :)


Saturday, September 6, 2014

Number 38


That's his number – 38 – and today he played his first of many games with his high school football team! I was so proud of seeing my first-born out there in the field kicking butt, but most if all I was happy of seeing him enjoy the game! :)


Jovan is a natural-born athlete; what ever sport or game he gets into, he masters it quickly and effortless. He's always been such a boy—always kicking, throwing, hitting or just rolling a ball on his hands. Because he's so athletic and competitive, I always knew that sports would be a big part of his high school experience. 

So this is the beginning of the next four years...


I really enjoy rooting my kiddos from the sidelines at all their sporting events and feel terrible if I miss being there for them, but Julissa had a game to attend this morning (for cheer) and I was not going to be able to make it to Jovan's game because it was an hour away. I was feeling a little bummed out, and I could tell he was feeling dissapointed as well. Thankfully, Julissa's game was rescheduled last minute and I was able to make it to Jovan's game, late but sure!

Initially, when my attendance was bleak,  I felt a little better that my husband and brother were going to be there for Jovan...his role models! :) 


When I found out I could go I invited—on, coaxed—my Mom to come along to the game. She's so not a game type of person, but agreed to it today. She ended up enjoying the entire experience and even asked me to pick her up for other games! Jovan was ecstatic to see her there! 💙



Jovan's team lost by 20 points...boo!! But you can't always win, right? It's all part of the game! He was happy, nonetheless.

We will see what the next few games look like. 

Until next time!